Image credit: [Maja Ilić]

The place to be for Daphnia lovers

Cladocera in Kulmbach

Image credit: [Maja Ilić]

The place to be for Daphnia lovers

Cladocera in Kulmbach

OMG all these people work with Daphnia? How cool is that!

Meeting the “big Daphnia scientists”

This was probably one of the most important conferences I attended as a PhD student. Why? Because (almost) everyone who “has a name” in Daphnia research was there. I finally met so many scientist whom I only knew as authors of the papers I was ready. It was the best opportunity to build up a network of future collaborators, mentors and colleagues. The most ironic thing about this conference: it was organized by Prof. Dr. Christian Laforsch, who was lecturer at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich while I was doing my undergrad, and in one of his lectures (about inducible defenses in Daphnia), he said that he never thought he would work with Daphnia. I can remember turning to my friend, who was sitting next to me in the lecture theater, saying “oh yeah, that’s not gonna happen to me”. Well, and yet here I was, doing my PhD on Daphnia and attending this great, but so niche conference. I was really happy to meet Prof. Dr. Laforsch and his colleagues, who have done an amazing job organizing the conference. I also talked to some of the “famous” scientists who gave me some really useful advice for the study I presented in my talk. And to make this so important experience even better: among really great ECRs, I won the 1. prize for the best student talk! I can still remember me hoping for it to happen, but loosing hope as 3. and 2. place were announced, who both really gave awesome talks, and could’t believe it for a moment when my name was announced. My supervisior was so proud (btw he just joined Twitter back then and one of his first Tweets was a picture of me holding my award), and so was our head of the research group. And to round this all up: 2. place in the “best talk” run and the poster prize went to two PhD students, whom I both knew from the LMU. It was the “LMU night” and we were all happy we met after years on such a great conference.

Avatar
Dr. Maja Ilić
Data Analyst/R Programmer in Ecology

Related